Richard F. Quaglietta

I have been a resident of Kent for the past 9 years and have been attending town board meetings for approximately 5 years, and have witnessed a board of mass confusion. The current town board is, for the most part, a group of bickering self serving people who lack the efficiency and skills needed to conduct town business. We are known as the "Town of Can't" because our town board can't get anything accomplished without fighting, yelling and screaming and insulting the public.

Open Government

I set a goal to make the citizens of Kent aware of the behavior of these elected officials. I began to film town board and workshop meetings and aired them on local cable TV and have made the tapes available to anyone who wants to view them. My efforts were not without a fight from several board members, yet I accomplished the goal and continue to bring these meetings into your homes.

When elected I will continue my quest for open government.

Environment

There has been much talk of building sewers for Lake Carmel. The theory may be correct and it can be done, but at phenomenal cost to the taxpayer.

Lake Carmel is built mostly on solid rock. The cost to bury sewer lines and build a sewage treatment plant to handle the sewage could exceed $70 million. This is why I am in favor of alternatives to traditional sewering using proven technologies to clean up not only Lake Carmel, but all of Kent's lake communities.

This is not a new concept, in fact, studies have shown favorable outcomes in other areas of New York for a fraction of the cost of treatment plants. Alternative septic systems may give our lakes what they need at a savings to the taxpayer. I will work hard to lobby the County Health Department to allow these proven systems in our town.

Business Development