Tax Burden & Broken Promises

by Frank Gentile

I have been a resident of Kent for approximately 5 years now, I purchased an older home on route 52 that over looks the lake and up until last year I split my time between taking care of my elderly parents at their Stamford CT home and enjoying the peace and quiet of Kent. As me and my spouse try to make this a year round home and reign in expenses (we are both suffering still from the economic disaster of the IT career world having both been downsized in one way or another) it finally sunk in how expensive it truly is to live in Kent. For a tiny house with under 1800 square feet and not even 1/4th of an acre we are paying nearly 14% more then my parents who own a house with 2 acres and have 500 more square feet, again they live in Stamford CT and their house is valued at nearly 3 times the one I am trying to make a home in here.

Then I read Bill Tulipane’s letter posted some time before he was elected as Town Supervisor and I have to wonder what has changed since then? I think it is amusing how he complained about taxes being high and offered a very good example (hell I would have voted for him if I was a full time resident then) but then does nothing. Bill, you were right on the point you made in your letter but it is sad that no headway has been made on Tax relief. Why is that?

I don’t see any changes and the Taxes on both the Town and School side of things have gone up consistently. The appraisals have gone up consistently and I don’t see how that can be right since my former neighbor has yet to sell his home which was valued at $325,000 and is still on the market going on 8 months now.

You better bet I will challenge any increase in the assessment of my home this year. I will challenge it because I know there are homes just sitting on the market next to mine and I believe my taxes are insanely high.